Utah Learner's Permit
Once you have completed your drivers education course you will be ready to apply for your Utah learners permit. You must:
1: Download and study your practice test
2: Prove that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course
3: Via a local DMV office
Obtaining a Utah Learner's Permit
In order to obtain a Utah learner's permit, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be at least 15 years of age
- Pass the written exam
- Pass the medical and eye exam
Once all the tests have been passed, the driver will need to have a parent or legal guardian sign for financial responsibility and pay a $15 fee.
The driver must show proof of identity, proof of social security, and proof of Utah residency.
For a complete checklist of the required and acceptable documentation, click Here. Examples are provided below:
Proof of Identity:
- Unexpired passport
- Certified copy of a birth certificate
- Certificate of Citizenship
Proof of Social Security:
Proof of Utah Residency:
- Bank statement
- School Transcript
- Valid Utah vehicle registration or title
If the driver is under 18 years old and has a Utah learners permit, an approved driving instructor or the parent or legal guardian must be in the passenger seat.
If the driver is older than 18 and has a Utah learners permit, a person 21 years or older who has proper authority to drive must be in the passenger seat.
Find out more about drivers education in Utah here.